Pasta e Faggioli Recipe

Here is a recipe for Pasta e Faggioli that I make which is amazing. The rind really adds depth.
I can’t stop making it.

1/2 tsp dried thyme
1 tsp rosemary
3 bay leaves
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
1 large chopped onion
3 celery stalks chopped
4 cloves smashed garlic
1 can whole peeled tomatoes (Muir Glen Organic Whole Peeled Plum Tomatoes 28 oz )
1 cup white cannellini beans dried
2 cups chicken stock
8 oz Ditalini pasta
Freshly ground black pepper
parmigiano reggiano rind
1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil


Soak beans overnight in 3 cups of water.
Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil and butter in a heavy large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion, celery, and garlic and saute until the onion is tender. Open pealed tomatoes and chop up inside can (I like to use a large pair os kitchen scissors). Add the broth, tomatoes, cheese rind (cheesecloth wrapped with grated parmigiano can be substituted), beans (drained), and herbs. Salt to taste and pepper to taste. I prefer a lot of pepper which gives the soup a nice bite. Cover and bring to a boil over high heat, then decrease the heat to low simmer until the beans are soft (about 2 hours). Stir occasionally.

Add 8 ounces of pasta, stir in pasta so it does not stick to saucepan. Cover and simmer for about 8 minutes until pasta is al dente. Remove bay leaves and cheese rind.

Ladle the soup into bowls. Sprinkle with some Parmesan and drizzle with extra-virgin olive oil just before serving. Serve with ciabatta.

Serves 4.

Photographer Bill Brady
Food Stylist Brian Preston Campbell
Recipe by Bill Brady
©BillBrady Photography all rights reserved

About Bill Brady Food Photographer

I am an accomplished food and beverage photographer. Having managed to combine my 2 great passions food and photography into a career has been an absolute joy. I spend my time creating food images not only for a living but for my audience. It's a labor of love for me. Recently I have teamed up with a group of very talented people to launch an online Magazine called Heat Magazine. A magazine about all foods spicy. Enjoy
This entry was posted in Food Photography, Food Styling, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pasta e Faggioli Recipe

  1. bb says:

    2 questions:

    1) What size can of tomatoes are you using?

    2) Do you drain the beans before you add them to the soup?

  2. Patty says:

    Wow this looks amazing, I love Italian food, thanks for posting the recipe!

  3. bb says:

    Thanks for the answers. I can’t wait to try the soup…. it looks so good!!

  4. Jim says:

    Made this tonight. Probably the best pasta e faggioli I’ve ever eaten. The idea to add the parmesan rind was amazing. I used Romano Pecorino and it was superb!

    • billbrady says:

      Yes the rind really adds depth. Most Pasta e faggioli is either too soupy or too dry for my taste.
      I also have a great french onion soup recipe but I have to photograph it before I post it.

  5. Meg says:

    I am really excited to make this tonight. There were no dried cannellini beans at my local grocer, so I have canned. Do you think that will make a difference? Maybe less cooking time. Hmmm. I’m still excited to try your recipe as it sounds (and looks) wonderful.

    • billbrady says:

      I would add the beans about ten minutes before you add the pasta. Since they are already soft you don’t want them to cook too long. Just enough to let the broth absorb into them.

  6. kathdedon says:

    This looks great! I’ve got a Parmesan rind ready to use.

    • billbrady says:

      Trust me you won’t be disappointed. I make this soup all winter and it’s always a hit. If you want it thicker add a little more pasta a little wetter add a little less. I sincerely hope you enjoy it, Let me know how you like it.

  7. Miri says:

    I love a good soup recipe! I love that trick about adding the rind — it leaves a rich, salty flavor.

  8. Looks delicious and healthy. I always add the rind too, and keep a stockpile in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

